Reviews



Summary
4.7

Very welcoming- Rating 5/5

The hosts at Stromabank made me feel very welcome and were attentive to my needs during my short stay. My room (No 2) was clean, warm and comfortable and the food was excellent. I thoroughly recommend the Stromabank Hotel.

Reviewer: David G | Mon 22nd Jul 2024 | 13 hours ago


Hoy escape. - Rating 5/5

We wanted a chance to explore a bit more of Hoy without being pressured for time on a day trip ferry so we booked a stopover at Stromabank Hotel.The booking process was simple and straightforward. Chris and Jade are two lovely people (Yorkshire folk after all!) who made us welcome from the outset. A menu for an evening meal was pre-supplied so we knew exactly what to expect. The food was excellent and fresh cooked. There is a bar so a beer or two helped wash it down. Breakfast like-wise, you can select in advance what you would like and its fresh cooked. It also includes yogurt,cereals and fruit juice as well as the cooked element. The room was excellent. Fully furnished and en-suite, with tea and coffee and biscuits(wonderful!) available in the room.The location is fabulous with views across the southern edge of Orkney and the Pentland Firth. It is so quiet, perfect for a restful nights sleep. We most definitely recommend this lovely little establishment to anyone needing some peace and quiet and a chance to relax.

Reviewer: Barry P | Thu 27th Jun 2024 | 3 weeks ago


Outstanding! - Rating 5/5

An outstanding place to stay, comfortabel rooms, An excellent kitchen and an exceptional hospitality, thanks to the efforts of the hotel keepers, and a wonderfull nature and coastline.Thank you Jade and Chris, for making our stay so enjoyable and peacefull!

Reviewer: Luc| Tue 25th Jun 2024 | 3 weeks ago


Lovely stay in a beautiful location- Rating 5/5

Jade and Chris were extremely welcoming; room was comfortable; and the food was delicious. Just what we needed for a short stay.

Reviewer: Gill B | Tue 18th Jun 2024 | 1 month ago


Peacefull place; lovely owners!- Rating 5/5

We stayed 5 nights at Stromnabank in Longhope, Hoy. The lovely couple who owns the place did everything they could to make us feel at home! Great and yummi food on special request was a true treat! We felt pampered! I highly recommed other travellers to go to this slightly hidden gem in the south of Hoy!

Reviewer: Janie H | Mon 17th Jun 2024 | 1 month ago


Well looked after- Rating 4/5

We were made to feel welcome and were well looked after through our stay thanks to Chris and Jade

Reviewer: Jan| Tue 11th Jun 2024 | 1 month ago


Visit to Hoy - Rating 5/5

On our arrival at the hotel we received a warm welcome by our hosts Jade and Chris and this continued throughout our stay. Most relaxing meals good food and great views whilst eating.Really enjoyable stay thanks.Douglas and Val

Reviewer: Douglas| Sat 1st Jun 2024 | 1 month ago


A quiet locationwith good hosts which wasjust what we wanted after our long walk. - Rating 4/5

We were warmly welcomed by Jade andChris and had great beers from the Swannay Brewery in the cosy bar. Our hosts cooked us very nice fish and chips and we shared a sticky toffee pudding. We are grateful to them for our late booking which made our visit to Hoy possible.

Reviewer: Kevin D | Fri 31st May 2024 | 1 month ago


Just what the doctor ordered! - Rating 5/5

Lovely location to have a needed rest and be looked after so well.Friendly and attentive hosts and staff.Limited menu was more than adequate to choose from at breakfast and evening dinner. Well served, though far too large for two elderly people!

Reviewer: Colin S | Wed 15th May 2024 | 2 months ago


Loved our stay - Rating 5/5

We loved our stay at the Stromabank Hotel on Hoy. Chris and Jade, and their delightful family, looked after us very well indeed and provided us with tasty home cooked breakfasts and dinners. Our room was very fresh and clean and equipped with every essential, tea tray, hair dryer, toiletries etc. Nothing was too much trouble for our hosts and we send huge thanks again for a lovely stay.

Reviewer: Jan| Mon 13th May 2024 | 2 months ago


Book Online